DM 41L missing * char.

Forum for discussion of the DM10, DM11, DM12, DM15, DM16 and DM41 units
Lance Patrick

DM 41L missing * char.

Post by Lance Patrick »

You should get a "*" when pressing "A" key "F"key "X" which is times sign not alpha X, this works like that on the 41CX and the titanium plate has the "*" indicated on it for this but the display shows X which is confusing, any one know why? A flash upgrade on the might solve the problem? It is ASCII code 42, is there any way to recall an ASCII code by instruction? They list all the codes so it should be possible it might be handy to recall the CHAR by instruction if you cant find in on the key board.

I am new to this calculator, makes interest programming, is much more fun than the more modern HP's which is too complicated for words I just program the formula needed on the 50g's but int his case I have an interest in user input therefore am trying to feel my way around things like Y or N , tables if possible to store a table in the RAM drive side and access the information later as the user makes inputs to what he is requiring, so I am looking for the *...which is missing on the 41L but not on the simulators or 41CX. I like the USR definable keyboard to run your own functions.

I think in this calculator you feel so much closer to what is going on inside, that it is more fun and exciting than modern programming you having to learn things by discovering . This generates the thought that a blank calculator should be made with a programming system to get kids to program their own user defined functions onto the calculator to understand their maths better as they go along. There could be not better way to learn about trig while programming your own "SIN COS and TAN" into the buttons for example.