Page 1 of 1

View/Aview refresh to slow

Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2020 9:10 am
by Peet
with some HP 41 programs, e.g. to Simon (frome the Games Library), texts or numbers appear too late or not at all through View or Aview.

At Simon:
VIEW X
TONE IND X
The tone appears long before the value of X.

Another example (animation):
"*"
AVIEW
"**"
AVIEW
"***"
AVIEW
Here only the last text "***" appears instead of a small animation.

Re: View/Aview refresh to slow

Posted: Sun Oct 11, 2020 11:36 am
by grsbanks
Thanks for the feedback. I've passed it on to the relevant people.

Re: View/Aview refresh to slow

Posted: Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:58 pm
by grsbanks
Update:

The AVIEW followed by TONE issue is confirmed and we'll get that fixed. Thanks for raising it.

The second issue, however, is one that we've not been able to reproduce. A couple of things come to mind:

1) I noticed that the DM41X sometimes runs that example too fast for the display to keep up. Try running it in SLOW mode.

2) Be aware that the bottom line of the display is the only line that is ever updated during program execution. Even if you are in SI_XA mode (which shows the alpha register in the second line up), that line will not change, even if you do alter the contents of the alpha register in your program, until execution stops.

Re: View/Aview refresh to slow

Posted: Thu Oct 15, 2020 2:30 pm
by Peet
I had simplified the 2nd example a little too much, there were also tones (synthetic TONE Z) between the Aviews in the affected program.
Is probably the same cause as in the first example.

Re: View/Aview refresh to slow

Posted: Thu Oct 15, 2020 2:34 pm
by grsbanks
Ah, yes. That would definitely explain it. There is a real issue with TONE (which is hardware-bound) that will be the cause of the problem here.

Re: View/Aview refresh to slow

Posted: Sat Nov 14, 2020 9:48 am
by Peet
I tested both of my samples with firmware 2.1, fix worked, the problem was solved.

Re: View/Aview refresh to slow

Posted: Sat Nov 14, 2020 2:59 pm
by rprosperi
Peet wrote:
Sat Nov 14, 2020 9:48 am
I tested both of my samples with firmware 2.1, fix worked, the problem was solved.
Thanks for checking and confirming. :)