43S News

General discussion about calculators, Swiss Micros or otherwise
User avatar
Jaymos
Posts: 590
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2018 6:03 pm
Location: Cape Town

Re: 43S News

Post by Jaymos » Tue Jun 23, 2020 10:07 am

Walter wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 9:42 am
Jaymos wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 12:00 am
Your STATS section in the manual does not seem to include a command to display the max of x,y and the min of x,y.
Is the omission of this planned or accidental?
Either way, can it be added to the STATS, maybe to the second STAT screen, next to rms.

The application for that is in addition to RMS being calculated from energy/time cycles, also the instantaneous max and min can easily be determined.
Please apologize if I miss the obvious, but what is the max of x,y and the min of x,y ? I'd understand the max of x or y ... :?

I said it in the way that the 43S currently gives the results for BOTH sets of x and y for the single command to produce s, x̄ ( x line on top), x̄ (x line on top) RMS, x̄ (x line on top) H, etc. It means I want to know the and y maxima for the sets of x and y, by pressing one button marked xmax, and the minima for both by one button for xmin.

If you want to sacrifice 4 buttons for min x, min y, max x and max y, that it is also ok. If you like to use all 4 stack lines at once, on screen, for one button called minmax, and it produces all four, marked as such on X,Y,Z,T, that is also ok.
Jaco Mostert
Elec Eng, South Africa
WP34C, HP42S, DM42 for complex math; 35S, 28C, 32Sii, WP34S, EL-506P, EL-W506, PB700; owned FX702P & 11C; used 67 & 85. iOS: 42s (Byron), Free42, WP31S/34S, HCalc.
WP43C running on DM42 sn. 03818 .

User avatar
Walter
Posts: 1540
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 9:13 am
Location: Close to FRA, Germany

Re: 43S News

Post by Walter » Tue Jun 23, 2020 10:21 am

Jaymos wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 10:07 am
Walter wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 9:42 am
Jaymos wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 12:00 am
Your STATS section in the manual does not seem to include a command to display the max of x,y and the min of x,y.
Is the omission of this planned or accidental?
Either way, can it be added to the STATS, maybe to the second STAT screen, next to rms.

The application for that is in addition to RMS being calculated from energy/time cycles, also the instantaneous max and min can easily be determined.
Please apologize if I miss the obvious, but what is the max of x,y and the min of x,y ? I'd understand the max of x or y ... :?
I said it in the way that the 43S currently gives the results for BOTH sets of x and y for the single command to produce s, x̄ ( x line on top), x̄ (x line on top) RMS, x̄ (x line on top) H, etc. It means I want to know the and y maxima for the sets of x and y, by pressing one button marked xmax, and the minima for both by one button for xmin.
Thanks for explaining your request. I understand what you want now. I don't see an application actually, however (background: in a sequence of experimental 1D data to be summed up, individual values are of minor importance usually - unless you talk of outliers which are a topic to be handled with great care and should be an exception). Please elaborate a bit.
DM42 SN: 00041 Beta
WP 43S running on this device

HP-35, HP-45, ..., HP-50, WP 34S, WP 31S, DM16L

User avatar
Jaymos
Posts: 590
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2018 6:03 pm
Location: Cape Town

Re: 43S News

Post by Jaymos » Tue Jun 23, 2020 12:02 pm

The key difference in application is that the stats function is used for data other than ‘experimental’ data. In this case data points would be single reliably measured points (meaning we don’t analyse for sample variance as the samples are within specified measuring equipment tolerances).

The stats function is used to produce equivalent quantities, i.e. RMS for equivalent energy, maximum for regulatory purposes and for maximum capacity purposes and average (arithmetic mean). I don’t see the need for minima but if you have the one you should probably have the other. The values mostly can be 1D, which means the x calculation is sufficient. Data can be 2D, with x being time, in which case the y calculation is needed.
Jaco Mostert
Elec Eng, South Africa
WP34C, HP42S, DM42 for complex math; 35S, 28C, 32Sii, WP34S, EL-506P, EL-W506, PB700; owned FX702P & 11C; used 67 & 85. iOS: 42s (Byron), Free42, WP31S/34S, HCalc.
WP43C running on DM42 sn. 03818 .

User avatar
Walter
Posts: 1540
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 9:13 am
Location: Close to FRA, Germany

Re: 43S News

Post by Walter » Tue Jun 23, 2020 1:55 pm

Jaymos wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 12:02 pm
The stats function is used to produce equivalent quantities, i.e. RMS for equivalent energy, maximum for regulatory purposes and for maximum capacity purposes and average (arithmetic mean). I don’t see the need for minima but if you have the one you should probably have the other. The values mostly can be 1D, which means the x calculation is sufficient. Data can be 2D, with x being time, in which case the y calculation is needed.
Thanks again. Understood for 1D. For 2D, however, you want the maxima of the x and y values independently, don't you? Just asking...
DM42 SN: 00041 Beta
WP 43S running on this device

HP-35, HP-45, ..., HP-50, WP 34S, WP 31S, DM16L

User avatar
Jaymos
Posts: 590
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2018 6:03 pm
Location: Cape Town

Re: 43S News

Post by Jaymos » Tue Jun 23, 2020 2:28 pm

Walter wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 1:55 pm
Jaymos wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 12:02 pm
The stats function is used to produce equivalent quantities, i.e. RMS for equivalent energy, maximum for regulatory purposes and for maximum capacity purposes and average (arithmetic mean). I don’t see the need for minima but if you have the one you should probably have the other. The values mostly can be 1D, which means the x calculation is sufficient. Data can be 2D, with x being time, in which case the y calculation is needed.
Thanks again. Understood for 1D. For 2D, however, you want the maxima of the x and y values independently, don't you? Just asking...
Yes, separately.

In fact, when 1D, only x required. When 2D, only y required. To make it easy, if the same way as the current RMS function is done is ok, i.e. both x and y presented for x only requested.
Jaco Mostert
Elec Eng, South Africa
WP34C, HP42S, DM42 for complex math; 35S, 28C, 32Sii, WP34S, EL-506P, EL-W506, PB700; owned FX702P & 11C; used 67 & 85. iOS: 42s (Byron), Free42, WP31S/34S, HCalc.
WP43C running on DM42 sn. 03818 .

User avatar
Walter
Posts: 1540
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 9:13 am
Location: Close to FRA, Germany

Re: 43S News

Post by Walter » Tue Jun 23, 2020 7:58 pm

Jaymos wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 2:28 pm
Walter wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 1:55 pm
Thanks again. Understood for 1D. For 2D, however, you want the maxima of the x and y values independently, don't you? Just asking...
Yes, separately.

In fact, when 1D, only x required. When 2D, only y required. To make it easy, if the same way as the current RMS function is done is ok, i.e. both x and y presented for x only requested.
Ok, we can place x_max and x_min right aside x_bar_RMS. This should cover your request.
DM42 SN: 00041 Beta
WP 43S running on this device

HP-35, HP-45, ..., HP-50, WP 34S, WP 31S, DM16L

User avatar
Jaymos
Posts: 590
Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2018 6:03 pm
Location: Cape Town

Re: 43S News

Post by Jaymos » Tue Jun 23, 2020 10:37 pm

Walter wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 7:58 pm
Jaymos wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 2:28 pm
Walter wrote:
Tue Jun 23, 2020 1:55 pm
Thanks again. Understood for 1D. For 2D, however, you want the maxima of the x and y values independently, don't you? Just asking...
Yes, separately.

In fact, when 1D, only x required. When 2D, only y required. To make it easy, if the same way as the current RMS function is done is ok, i.e. both x and y presented for x only requested.
Ok, we can place x_max and x_min right aside x_bar_RMS. This should cover your request.
Thank you
Jaco Mostert
Elec Eng, South Africa
WP34C, HP42S, DM42 for complex math; 35S, 28C, 32Sii, WP34S, EL-506P, EL-W506, PB700; owned FX702P & 11C; used 67 & 85. iOS: 42s (Byron), Free42, WP31S/34S, HCalc.
WP43C running on DM42 sn. 03818 .

User avatar
Walter
Posts: 1540
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 9:13 am
Location: Close to FRA, Germany

Re: 43S News

Post by Walter » Wed Jun 24, 2020 3:11 pm

Updated our project page on SourceForge: https://sourceforge.net/projects/wp43s/ ... =directory
DM42 SN: 00041 Beta
WP 43S running on this device

HP-35, HP-45, ..., HP-50, WP 34S, WP 31S, DM16L

DiscoMike
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2019 9:00 pm

Re: 43S News

Post by DiscoMike » Thu Jun 25, 2020 4:23 am

OK I must be missing something.

I installed the latest WP43S on my Windows 10 Laptop. All I see is a calculator with buttons but no labels on the buttons or on the calculator itself. Numeric display functions normally. Pressing numeric buttons displays numbers.

I downloaded from the Gitlab site - placing the following all in a new single folder:
WP43S.EXE
WP43S_pre.cs
WP43S_standardfont.ttf
wp43s-master-artwork - all the files are copied to the WP43S folder

What am I missing to make the new version run ?

Thanks !

User avatar
Walter
Posts: 1540
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 9:13 am
Location: Close to FRA, Germany

Re: 43S News

Post by Walter » Thu Jun 25, 2020 8:26 am

Did you install the wp43s_standardfont?

And just the folder 'artwork' has to be in the directory where wp43s.exe is, the individual files shall stay in that folder.
DM42 SN: 00041 Beta
WP 43S running on this device

HP-35, HP-45, ..., HP-50, WP 34S, WP 31S, DM16L

Post Reply