How to enter goose symbol (▶)?

Post here to share useful tips and tricks, to ask questions about using your DM42 or to report software-related problems
firai
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2020 11:38 am
Location: NYC/HK

How to enter goose symbol (▶)?

Post by firai » Wed Oct 14, 2020 3:10 pm

How do I enter the goose symbol (▶) into programs (or the alpha register)? I can get the symbol through RAW files generated by the encoder, as well as by pasting the character in Free42 in Windows, but I can't seem to find a way of entering the character through the alpha character menus or physical buttons.

Thanks for your help in advance!
Sam

grsbanks
Posts: 1028
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 11:23 am
Location: Preston, Lancs, UK
Contact:

Re: How to enter goose symbol (▶)?

Post by grsbanks » Wed Oct 14, 2020 3:24 pm

Short answer, you can't. This is quite simply a symbol that is not accessible directly on the keyboard. Other than using the decoder/encoder, the only way to get it into the alpha register is by adding character with code 6:

Code: Select all

6
XTOA
There are only 10 kinds of people in the world: those who understand binary and those who do not.

User avatar
PierreMengisen
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 1:38 pm
Location: Neuchâtel CH

Re: How to enter goose symbol (▶)?

Post by PierreMengisen » Wed Oct 14, 2020 3:24 pm

6
XTOA
That’s it
Pierre
[TI59 with PC100C; TI-84 Plus CE-T; HP41CV with HP IL loop & 2*82161A DCD & 82162 TP; HP15C; HP28S; DM41; DM41L; DM42; DM41X]

Boub65
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 4:34 pm
Location: Rabat, Morocco

Re: How to enter goose symbol (▶)?

Post by Boub65 » Wed Oct 14, 2020 5:37 pm

Hi,
On my DM41L with :
6
XTOA
I get a "Japanese" character in alpha?!
2xDM15L, DM41L, DM42 SN#00855
TI-89 titanium, CASIO fx-cg50 (to play with micropython)

User avatar
PierreMengisen
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 1:38 pm
Location: Neuchâtel CH

Re: How to enter goose symbol (▶)?

Post by PierreMengisen » Wed Oct 14, 2020 6:58 pm

Boub65 wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 5:37 pm
Hi,
On my DM41L with :
6
XTOA
I get a "Japanese" character in alpha?!
Yes, because DM41L is not a DM42!
Pierre
[TI59 with PC100C; TI-84 Plus CE-T; HP41CV with HP IL loop & 2*82161A DCD & 82162 TP; HP15C; HP28S; DM41; DM41L; DM42; DM41X]

Boub65
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 4:34 pm
Location: Rabat, Morocco

Re: How to enter goose symbol (▶)?

Post by Boub65 » Wed Oct 14, 2020 11:29 pm

PierreMengisen wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 6:58 pm
Yes, because DM41L is not a DM42!
Sorry, I thought that there was "ascendant compatibility" between HP41C and HP42s instructions = same instructions give same result on both calc (except for precision).
2xDM15L, DM41L, DM42 SN#00855
TI-89 titanium, CASIO fx-cg50 (to play with micropython)

firai
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2020 11:38 am
Location: NYC/HK

Re: How to enter goose symbol (▶)?

Post by firai » Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:40 am

Boub65 wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 11:29 pm
Sorry, I thought that there was "ascendant compatibility" between HP41C and HP42s instructions = same instructions give same result on both calc (except for precision).
The character set and code points for symbols have been revised for the 42S. See https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FOCAL_character_set.
Sam

firai
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2020 11:38 am
Location: NYC/HK

Re: How to enter goose symbol (▶)?

Post by firai » Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:47 am

grsbanks wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 3:24 pm
Short answer, you can't. This is quite simply a symbol that is not accessible directly on the keyboard. Other than using the decoder/encoder, the only way to get it into the alpha register is by adding character with code 6:

Code: Select all

6
XTOA
PierreMengisen wrote:
Wed Oct 14, 2020 3:24 pm
6
XTOA
That’s it
Thanks for your quick responses! It seems like this is one of the only (if not the only?) characters that can't be entered through the alpha menus or the keyboard...
Sam

Thomas Okken
Posts: 765
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 5:48 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: How to enter goose symbol (▶)?

Post by Thomas Okken » Thu Oct 15, 2020 2:35 am

firai wrote:
Thu Oct 15, 2020 12:47 am
It seems like this is one of the only (if not the only?) characters that can't be entered through the alpha menus or the keyboard...
There are a few more in addition to ▸:

▒ (4 and 30)
↵ (13)
␛ (27)
├ (127)
: (128)
ʏ (129)

128 and 129 are used for the X: and Y: labels for those two stack registers; the X in those labels is a regular lowercase x.

firai
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2020 11:38 am
Location: NYC/HK

Re: How to enter goose symbol (▶)?

Post by firai » Thu Oct 15, 2020 3:05 am

Thomas Okken wrote:
Thu Oct 15, 2020 2:35 am
There are a few more in addition to ▸:

▒ (4 and 30)
↵ (13)
␛ (27)
├ (127)
: (128)
ʏ (129)

128 and 129 are used for the X: and Y: labels for those two stack registers; the X in those labels is a regular lowercase x.
I was about to ask what other symbols also can't be entered through the menus or the keyboard. Thanks for answering my question before I asked it! :lol:
Sam

Post Reply