[DM42] Bug when turned on?

Post here to share useful tips and tricks, to ask questions about using your DM42 or to report software-related problems
keithdalby
Posts: 563
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 6:38 pm

[DM42] Bug when turned on?

Post by keithdalby » Thu Jun 04, 2020 9:16 am

Good morning calculator fans,

When I first turn my calculator on after it being off for a little while (I don't know specifically how long), the screen has missing elements. It is not always the same missing elements each time this happens, but it happens every time. Here's a video of a particularly bad example:

https://youtu.be/CDtlJYWs16s

Here, when turned on, the screen remained completely blank (my 'screensaver' image is deliberately blank when turned 'off'). You can see what happens with my key presses, a number reveals some of the screen elements, but not the bit at the top.

This has become such a nuisance (having to press a few buttons to see everything) that I've actually stopped using my DM42 now. Is this a known bug? Is there a fix?

DMCP v3.18
DM42 v 3.15

User avatar
akaTB
Posts: 483
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 11:56 am
Location: Milan, Italy

Re: [DM42] Bug when turned on?

Post by akaTB » Thu Jun 04, 2020 9:32 am

Interference from the static caused by your hairs?
:mrgreen:
Greetings,
    Massimo
ajcaton
-+×÷ left is right and right is wrong :twisted: Casted in gold

keithdalby
Posts: 563
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 6:38 pm

Re: [DM42] Bug when turned on?

Post by keithdalby » Thu Jun 04, 2020 5:02 pm

If folk are running the same software and not having the same issues, does that make this a hardware issue?

EM41
Posts: 110
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 10:10 pm
Location: Overijssel Netherlands

Re: [DM42] Bug when turned on?

Post by EM41 » Thu Jun 04, 2020 5:48 pm

I don't see this here also not with a blanc off screen.

edit: With the 41X, that i use most, I had to do a few serious "paperclip of death" resets because of experiments, maybe its a good idea to do that and format also the FAT disk before concluding its the hardware.
Last edited by EM41 on Thu Jun 04, 2020 7:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
HP41C (2x), HP41CV, HP41CX, DM41X β, DM42, HP11C, HP48G, HP97

User avatar
PierreMengisen
Posts: 101
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 12:38 pm
Location: Neuchâtel CH

Re: [DM42] Bug when turned on?

Post by PierreMengisen » Thu Jun 04, 2020 7:03 pm

keithdalby wrote:
Thu Jun 04, 2020 9:16 am
actually stopped using my DM42
Is it the same behaviour when powered by USB?
Pierre
[TI59 with PC100C; TI-84 Plus CE-T; HP41CV with HP IL loop & 2*82161A DCD & 82162 TP; HP15C; HP28S; DM41; DM41L; DM42; DM41X]

gduncan
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 2:18 pm
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: [DM42] Bug when turned on?

Post by gduncan » Fri Jun 05, 2020 2:26 am

keithdalby wrote:
Thu Jun 04, 2020 9:16 am
When I first turn my calculator on after it being off for a little while (I don't know specifically how long), the screen has missing elements. It is not always the same missing elements each time this happens, but it happens every time. Here's a video of a particularly bad example:
You may have a faulty ribbon connector on the LCD. I had to replace my LCD screen as I was experiencing a very similar issue. I am pretty sure that my LCD ribbon was damaged due to me taking the calculator apart so many times to address the keyboard issues. Michael at SM was able to sell me the LCD only. I replaced it, and everything worked fine.

keithdalby
Posts: 563
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 6:38 pm

Re: [DM42] Bug when turned on?

Post by keithdalby » Tue Jun 09, 2020 4:17 pm

PierreMengisen wrote:
Thu Jun 04, 2020 7:03 pm
keithdalby wrote:
Thu Jun 04, 2020 9:16 am
actually stopped using my DM42
Is it the same behaviour when powered by USB?
Good suggestion. I've been doing some testing, and it only happens when battery powered. The battery meter on the calculator shows that it's fine 🤷 any suggestions?

User avatar
Walter
Posts: 1550
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 9:13 am
Location: Close to FRA, Germany

Re: [DM42] Bug when turned on?

Post by Walter » Tue Jun 09, 2020 4:58 pm

keithdalby wrote:
Tue Jun 09, 2020 4:17 pm
PierreMengisen wrote:
Thu Jun 04, 2020 7:03 pm
keithdalby wrote:
Thu Jun 04, 2020 9:16 am
actually stopped using my DM42
Is it the same behaviour when powered by USB?
Good suggestion. I've been doing some testing, and it only happens when battery powered. The battery meter on the calculator shows that it's fine 🤷 any suggestions?
What does 'fine' mean in volts? (I once thought this is a technical forum ... :roll: )
DM42 SN: 00041 Beta
WP 43S running on this device

HP-35, HP-45, ..., HP-50, WP 34S, WP 31S, DM16L

grsbanks
Posts: 947
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:23 am
Location: Preston, Lancs, UK
Contact:

Re: [DM42] Bug when turned on?

Post by grsbanks » Tue Jun 09, 2020 5:29 pm

Walter wrote:
Tue Jun 09, 2020 4:58 pm
What does 'fine' mean in volts? (I once thought this is a technical forum ... :roll: )
Keith is a physics teacher. I'm sure he is able to ascertain what voltage range is "fine" himself.
There are only 10 kinds of people in the world: those who understand binary and those who do not.

User avatar
akaTB
Posts: 483
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 11:56 am
Location: Milan, Italy

Re: [DM42] Bug when turned on?

Post by akaTB » Tue Jun 09, 2020 6:10 pm

Maybe the voltage is fine, but not the capacity.
Greetings,
    Massimo
ajcaton
-+×÷ left is right and right is wrong :twisted: Casted in gold

Post Reply