Spreadsheet App for DM42

Discussion around the SwissMicros DM42 calculator
Jim_W

Spreadsheet App for DM42

Post by Jim_W »

Hi All - My name is Jim. I have just joined this forum so first I'll tell you a little about myself. I am retired now but my career was in the aerospace industry working on both airplanes and rocket motors as an engineer. I have been using programmable calculators since the HP-25. To date, I have owned: HP-25, HP-29c, HP-15c, HP-48sx, HP-42s, HP-48gii, and now a Casio fx-50cg. By far, the HP-42s is my favorite. I can not tell you how happy I am to learn of the DM42! I have not ordered mine yet but plan to in the near future.

In my engineering and in my aviation (I am also a GA pilot), I solve many problems involving multiple variables. Having a multi-line display on my calculator for displaying input and output prompts, I think is the greatest thing since slice bread. Which brings me to the DM42's screen! This has got to be the nicest screen out there. I love the e-ink on my Kindle and the screen on the DM42 looks (on my computer screen at least) just as good. It is so good that I think it should be put to full advantage.

How, do you ask? Well, I have a suggestion. - Now - If this has been suggested before, I'm sorry. I did a search in the forum but didn't find anything like what I'm thinking about. So, here goes - What about putting a spreadsheet app into the DM42? Now, I know - The HP-42s didn't have a spreadsheet, and most spreadsheets don't work with RPN, and why have a programmable calculator with a programmable spreadsheet, and on and on. I am sure that there might be some people that will think this would desecrate the HP image, but I should remind them that the HP Prime has a built in spreadsheet.