Do use the same USB DRiver for a replacement calc?

If you're having problems with the hardware of a DM42, post about them here.
Post Reply
zeno333
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2017 12:34 am

Do use the same USB DRiver for a replacement calc?

Post by zeno333 » Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:10 am

Michael will be sending me a replacement DM42...Can I use the same USB Driver that is already installed to use for Firmware Updates on the new calculator?...Wondering if the software has any sort of digital ID in it, I presume not just checking.

Michael
Site Admin
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 9:31 pm

Re: Do use the same USB DRiver for a replacement calc?

Post by Michael » Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:18 am

Yes, of course you can use the same driver.

toml_12953
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 5:46 pm
Location: Malone, NY USA

Re: Do use the same USB DRiver for a replacement calc?

Post by toml_12953 » Sat Jan 13, 2018 10:24 am

Michael wrote:
Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:18 am
Yes, of course you can use the same driver.
I can't use the same driver for my beta unit as my production unit. When I want to update the firmware of the beta machine, I run inf-wizard then if I want to update the production machine, I have to run inf-wizard again or else DM Tool won't see the new calculator.
Tom L

Ducator meus nihil agit sine lagunculae leynidae accedunt

DM42 SN: 00025 (Beta)
SN: 00221 (Shipping)

Michael
Site Admin
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2017 9:31 pm

Re: Do use the same USB DRiver for a replacement calc?

Post by Michael » Sat Jan 13, 2018 10:55 am

toml_12953 wrote:
Sat Jan 13, 2018 10:24 am
I can't use the same driver for my beta unit as my production unit. When I want to update the firmware of the beta machine, I run inf-wizard then if I want to update the production machine, I have to run inf-wizard again or else DM Tool won't see the new calculator.
That's weird, but must be some Windows issue ...

rprosperi
Posts: 375
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 5:48 pm
Location: New York

Re: Do use the same USB DRiver for a replacement calc?

Post by rprosperi » Sat Jan 13, 2018 3:09 pm

toml_12953 wrote:
Sat Jan 13, 2018 10:24 am
I can't use the same driver for my beta unit as my production unit. When I want to update the firmware of the beta machine, I run inf-wizard then if I want to update the production machine, I have to run inf-wizard again or else DM Tool won't see the new calculator.
This is NOT a general issue on Windows, I use the same USB installation on both my machines (beta & production) without issues, so it's a result of some atypical problem or configuration on your Windows PC.
--bob p

DM42: β00071 & 00282

grsbanks
Posts: 709
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:23 am
Location: Preston, Lancs, UK

Re: Do use the same USB DRiver for a replacement calc?

Post by grsbanks » Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:25 pm

I can confirm that it shouldn't be necessary to reinstall the drivers each time you switch from one unit to the other. I just installed our latest internal test version on both my beta unit and production unit. No problem for either, it went smoothly both times.
Not SwissMicros staff, just an enthusiast.

Post Reply