Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post here to share useful tips and tricks, to ask questions about using your DM42 or to report software-related problems
User avatar
Walter
Posts: 817
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 9:13 am
Location: Close to FRA, Germany

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by Walter » Sat Oct 06, 2018 7:09 pm

Your case looks like one for the inner circle (most probably for David, I guess).
DM42 SN: 00041 --- Follower of Platon.

HP-35, HP-45, ..., HP-50, WP 34S, WP 31S, DM16L

User avatar
ijabbott
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 1:34 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by ijabbott » Sun Oct 07, 2018 7:42 am

DA74254 wrote:
Sat Oct 06, 2018 5:05 pm
If your QSPI is faulty/corrupt, you have "nothing to lose" in trying either 4. or 5. as described in the manual.
http://www.swissmicros.com/dm42/doc/dm4 ... _load_menu
If you successfully manage to format the QSPI (Maybe you lose some space if there are corrupt blocks in it, but the 5. option should mask them from the calc system), you can restore the files in the (remaining) QSPI space from the zip-file found here:
http://www.swissmicros.com/dm42/fat/
You may need to format the FAT disk from DMCP's "7. Enter System Menu" => "4. Format FAT Disk". Then exit back to the DMCP menu and activate the USB disk from there (with the calculator connected via USB of course). Then, if you can see the DM42 FAT disk from your computer, you should be able to reload the QSPI flash via the FAT method (and also restore the original files on the FAT disk).

User avatar
TomC
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 7:00 pm
Location: Detroit/Palo Alto, USA/Third Stone

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by TomC » Sun Oct 07, 2018 2:54 pm

Here again is the latest status:

from the DMCP menu, I've formatted and checked the FAT disk.

I then got to 'activate USB disk' from the DMCP menu.

The PC chirps indicating that the driver is working (and Control Panel shows it installed and working properly).

BUT the DM42 does NOT show in file explorer, thus I cannot get to the FAT disk from the PC.

Also, from the DM tool, the only way it can 'see' the ST flash is when I put the DM42 in bootloader mode. I can then flash files from here, but in andy case, the FAT disk does not appear in file manager.

:( (hoping GRS will chime in soon!!!)
TomC
DM42:00068/03961

DA74254
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 9:20 pm
Location: Norway/Latvia

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by DA74254 » Sun Oct 07, 2018 3:13 pm

Have you tried another PC, or even maybe a phone (Android/Iphone) via OTG?
Just to bring to evidence that it *is* the calc and not the device(s) you connect to.

And - do you connect to USB3 or USB2 port? I have actually experienced that USB3 will "pling" but not show up as the drive (QSPI) is to "small", only 6MB.
Esben
DM42 SN: 00245

User avatar
TomC
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 7:00 pm
Location: Detroit/Palo Alto, USA/Third Stone

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by TomC » Sun Oct 07, 2018 3:23 pm

This is the same PC, etc I've been using since the prototype era.

I can try another PC setup, although given that when the DM42 3.10 is installed and appears to run yet gives garbled results in the stack tells me that there is something corrupt at a very low level.

TomC
TomC
DM42:00068/03961

DA74254
Posts: 41
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 9:20 pm
Location: Norway/Latvia

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by DA74254 » Sun Oct 07, 2018 3:33 pm

Hmm, OK.
But there is a tiny slim maybe skinny chance that your PC *might* have correupted the QSPI via a faulty USB port.
I admit it is fairly thin, that chance, given all the tries you have done.

Garbeled results in the stack does not sound very good, though.
As a last resort before invoking Michael and maybe an exchange unit; Have you opened the calc to check that all internal cabling are OK?
(If you accidently maybe have dropped it and something inside has become askew).
Esben
DM42 SN: 00245

User avatar
TomC
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 7:00 pm
Location: Detroit/Palo Alto, USA/Third Stone

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by TomC » Sun Oct 07, 2018 6:29 pm

Fascinating News everyone!!!:

1. Moved to a different PC(Win10).--> DM42 now shows up in File Manager!!
( I still would like to know how to fix this in my 'usual' PC as using this one is inconvenient)

2. Flashed 3.10 and SEEMED to work!!! But garbled characters persisted!!!

3. Reflashed QSPI. Unit now seems to work.!!!???
(just now need to review OFFIMG settings, .raw file usage).

The testing will continue!

Thank you all for your persistence!

TomC
DM42:00068
TomC
DM42:00068/03961

grsbanks
Posts: 714
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:23 am
Location: Preston, Lancs, UK

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by grsbanks » Sun Oct 07, 2018 7:28 pm

If your calculator says "QSPI not loaded" and the FAT disk does not show up when you plug the DM42 into a USB port and activate the FAT drive, then it looks very much like you have a faulty QSPI chip.

If I were you I'd get in touch with michael@swissmicros.com and ask what to do next.
Not SwissMicros staff, just an enthusiast.

User avatar
TomC
Posts: 53
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 7:00 pm
Location: Detroit/Palo Alto, USA/Third Stone

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by TomC » Sun Oct 07, 2018 7:44 pm

Hello GRS:

Thank you for the reply.

Since I reflashed the QSPI, screen shows:
QSPI SIZE 1370864 CRC: 000cfed6
QSPI READY
PGM IFC: 3.9 DMCP IFC:3.9
DMCP IFC COMPATIBLE

All seems fine, I've loaded and run programs.
I still have to try on the machine that the DM42 did not show up in explorer.

Regards,
TomC
TomC
DM42:00068/03961

User avatar
ijabbott
Posts: 113
Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2017 1:34 pm
Location: Manchester, UK

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by ijabbott » Sun Oct 07, 2018 8:27 pm

Those numbers all look correct.

On your usual PC, do any devices with exclamation marks appear in Windows Device Manager when you connect the DM42 and "Activate USB Disk"? If so, then delete those devices in Device Manager, 'eject' the USB device if possible (but it shouldn't matter since it never got mounted as a file system), and disconnect the USB. The next time you reconnect and "Activate USB Disk", then it will install as a new device and will hopefully have sorted things out.

Post Reply