Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post here to share useful tips and tricks, to ask questions about using your DM42 or to report software-related problems
DA74254
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 9:20 pm
Location: Norway/Latvia

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by DA74254 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 5:51 am

TomC wrote:
Fri Oct 05, 2018 10:50 pm
... I have 3.10 on the calculator and the PC beeps indicating it is recognizing the USB device, but it does NOT show in file manager. ...
I had an HDD that behaved like that. It was a faulty cable error. Have you tried a different cable? Have you tried to "roll back" the driver in your PC?
Have you tried something as trivial as to use another USB port? Or, have you tried other devices in the USB port you use your calc with? I have experienced failing USB ports in my PCs, not only once..
Esben
DM42 SN: 00245

User avatar
Walter
Posts: 773
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 9:13 am
Location: Close to FRA, Germany

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by Walter » Sat Oct 06, 2018 6:00 am

I'd like to emphasize what Esben said. When experiencing something like what you observed, swap every component you can swap. You may even try another PC. The fault may well be in a component you didn't expect.

Prerequisite is you follow the manual strictly (even if you think you know the procedure by heart - you may have missed something).

Good luck in hunting the fault(s)!
DM42 SN: 00041 --- Follower of Platon.

HP-35, HP-45, ..., HP-50, WP 34S, WP 31S, DM16L

User avatar
TomC
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 7:00 pm
Location: Detroit/Palo Alto, USA

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by TomC » Sat Oct 06, 2018 3:01 pm

Thank you.

I will try this, however I am most skeptical since :
1. The data paths in both directions work.
2. The the process is dependent on the state of the calculator.
3. This is the same setup I have been using for some time.
4. The calc does get flashed but is left in a 'wounded' state.

Also, it appears that the QSPI is not loaded, but I have no way to flash it as the current directions only refer to flashing from the FAT.

I would like to find the old 3.2 flashing directions - still looking.
I will verify the conditions of various cables I'm using.

Thank you again for your attention!

TomC
TomC
DM42:00068

User avatar
TomC
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 7:00 pm
Location: Detroit/Palo Alto, USA

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by TomC » Sat Oct 06, 2018 3:12 pm

Differnt setup now.

Same results, the only way the DM util 'sees' the calc is when the calc is in Bootloader mode.

So, What do I flash for the bootloader?

TomC
TomC
DM42:00068

DA74254
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 9:20 pm
Location: Norway/Latvia

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by DA74254 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 4:11 pm

It's stated here how to do it the "old" way:
https://www.swissmicros.com/dm42/doc/dm ... ng_dm_tool
Esben
DM42 SN: 00245

User avatar
TomC
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 7:00 pm
Location: Detroit/Palo Alto, USA

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by TomC » Sat Oct 06, 2018 4:34 pm

This is precisely what I have been doing, since the bootloader state is the only mode that the dmutil driver recognizes the calc.

The question is - What .bin file do I flash into the calc? When I do this, the calc does not work.

I will try again and report back with more details.

Thanks,
TomC
TomC
DM42:00068

DA74254
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 9:20 pm
Location: Norway/Latvia

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by DA74254 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 4:43 pm

Try the v3.5 from here:
http://www.swissmicros.com/dm42/firmwar ... _versions/
Thats the "first" one to allow later updates via FAT. If you get that one running, then you may try the combofile of v 3.10
Esben
DM42 SN: 00245

User avatar
TomC
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 7:00 pm
Location: Detroit/Palo Alto, USA

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by TomC » Sat Oct 06, 2018 4:53 pm

Ok, so I've done the press RESET and PGM to enter bootloader mode.

The calc is then recognized the the dmutil (but NOT by file explorer).

I flashed the combined 3.10/DM42 pgm. The dm tool reported Erasing, programming, success, Resetting.

The calc screen shows for program info:
Progaam: DM42
Version: 3.10/2.0.21
QSPI SIZE 1370864CRC: 000cfed6
QSPI NOT LOADED
PGM IFC: 3.9 DMCP IFC: 3.9
DMCP IFC COMPATIBLE

if I then hit a key and '2' to 'Run Pgm', the above information screen comes up.
(by the way, when I look at the FAT drive on the calc, it's empty)

HOWEVER, if I go to he DMCP menu and 'Run Pgm', the DM42 runs!!!

So, now the DM42 is alive, but when I activate USB disk, the PC beeps to indicate a connection, but the DM42 does NOT show up in File explorer. The lib-usb driver does show up in Control panel and is 'working properly'.

So, at least I have the calculator back, but no way to get files in and out of it!?

I suspect there is something funny with the QSPI as indiecated by the Calc screen above.

Perhaps flashing a QSPI file will work? What version? Where?

TomC
TomC
DM42:00068

DA74254
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 9:20 pm
Location: Norway/Latvia

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by DA74254 » Sat Oct 06, 2018 5:05 pm

If your QSPI is faulty/corrupt, you have "nothing to lose" in trying either 4. or 5. as described in the manual.
http://www.swissmicros.com/dm42/doc/dm4 ... _load_menu
If you successfully manage to format the QSPI (Maybe you lose some space if there are corrupt blocks in it, but the 5. option should mask them from the calc system), you can restore the files in the (remaining) QSPI space from the zip-file found here:
http://www.swissmicros.com/dm42/fat/
Esben
DM42 SN: 00245

User avatar
TomC
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 7:00 pm
Location: Detroit/Palo Alto, USA

Re: Updating from 3.3 to 3.10

Post by TomC » Sat Oct 06, 2018 5:07 pm

Oops. I had a flash of optiism there!!!

When using the calculartor and keying in numbers, strange characters appear in the stack.

Keying in numbers and ENTER ing up through the stack, the characters changed.

So obviously, something at a low level is corrupted.

:(

TomC
TomC
DM42:00068

Post Reply