Page 4 of 5

Re: UPDATE: DMCP-3.13 / DM42-3.13

Posted: Thu Mar 21, 2019 10:05 pm
by tycho
I still have the freezing problem. I upgraded from 3.5 to 3.12 as you and it worked fine, but now the Load Flash from FAT menu freezes. I tried dm_tool, but it doesn't finds any DFU devices when entering bootloader.

Re: UPDATE: DMCP-3.13 / DM42-3.13

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 11:13 am
by Leechpool
tycho wrote:
Thu Mar 21, 2019 10:05 pm
I still have the freezing problem. I upgraded from 3.5 to 3.12 as you and it worked fine, but now the Load Flash from FAT menu freezes. I tried dm_tool, but it doesn't finds any DFU devices when entering bootloader.
tycho,
Did you use dm-tool or dfu-utils to install 3.13 first? The FAT upgrade will only work from v3.5 or v3.13.
If you tried to use FAT upgrade from v3.12, then I wouldn't expect it to work.
:)

UPDATE: It's clarified later but the above comment was aimed at tycho, and only applies to those having difficulty in upgrading using the FAT partition. If FAT upgrade has been working for you then you can ignore the above. However, if like me, FAT upgrade causes your calculator to freeze and you were hoping the new firmware will help, v3.13 is likely to help with future upgrades i.e. from 3.13 to 3.14 and so on. The changes in 3.13 will not help the upgrade from 3.12 to 3.13; this must be done through other methods e.g. dfu-utils....

Re: UPDATE: DMCP-3.13 / DM42-3.13

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:11 pm
by tycho
I got confused by this, but yes the dm_tool worked after I reinstalled the libusb 1.2.6.0 driver. So next time I assume the FAT uppgrade will work. Thank you so much.

Re: UPDATE: DMCP-3.13 / DM42-3.13

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:19 pm
by Vitasam
Hi,
Leechpool wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 11:13 am
The FAT upgrade will only work from v3.5 or v3.13.
If you tried to use FAT upgrade from v3.12, then I wouldn't expect it to work.
Does it mean that all users, who had v3.12 have had troubles with FAT upgrade?

Re: UPDATE: DMCP-3.13 / DM42-3.13

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:40 pm
by DA74254
Vitasam wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:19 pm
Hi,
Leechpool wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 11:13 am
The FAT upgrade will only work from v3.5 or v3.13.
If you tried to use FAT upgrade from v3.12, then I wouldn't expect it to work.
Does it mean that all users, who had v3.12 have had troubles with FAT upgrade?
No. Mine upgraded perfectly from 3.12 to 3.13 without any issues. I used the "combo" file, though I downloaded and copied both the combo and the 3.13 DM42 file to the FAT. After upgrade, the combofile was deleted by the DM42 itself and the 3.13 DM42 program file remained.

Re: UPDATE: DMCP-3.13 / DM42-3.13

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 10:09 pm
by grsbanks
Vitasam wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:19 pm
Does it mean that all users, who had v3.12 have had troubles with FAT upgrade?
No, it means that those who were having problems already with the "Update from FAT" feature, and only those, will continue to do so up to and including V3.12. Once they have installed V3.13 the "old fashioned" way, they will no longer have that problem. Those who didn't have the "Update from FAT" problem probably aren't reading this far in the thread anyway :)

Re: UPDATE: DMCP-3.13 / DM42-3.13

Posted: Fri Mar 22, 2019 10:22 pm
by Vitasam
grsbanks wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 10:09 pm
Vitasam wrote:
Fri Mar 22, 2019 8:19 pm
Does it mean that all users, who had v3.12 have had troubles with FAT upgrade?
No, it means that those who were having problems already with the "Update from FAT" feature, and only those, will continue to do so up to and including V3.12. Once they have installed V3.13 the "old fashioned" way, they will no longer have that problem. Those who didn't have the "Update from FAT" problem probably aren't reading this far in the thread anyway :)
Thanks for clean and comprehensive clarification! :)

Re: UPDATE: DMCP-3.13 / DM42-3.13

Posted: Sat May 11, 2019 1:55 am
by d4days
I installed the 3.13 update and it seems to work fine. However, it seems to reset itself after not using it for an hour or so. And, the settings reset. Not sure what's going on.

Re: UPDATE: DMCP-3.13 / DM42-3.13

Posted: Tue May 14, 2019 2:22 am
by HPMike
d4days wrote:
Sat May 11, 2019 1:55 am
I installed the 3.13 update and it seems to work fine. However, it seems to reset itself after not using it for an hour or so. And, the settings reset. Not sure what's going on.
During the install did you keep your calculator connected to the computer USB port to avoid drain on the battery ? The flash process drains the battery quite a bit, and your battery may be low.

Re: UPDATE: DMCP-3.13 / DM42-3.13

Posted: Tue May 21, 2019 11:52 am
by d4days
HPMike wrote:
Tue May 14, 2019 2:22 am
d4days wrote:
Sat May 11, 2019 1:55 am
I installed the 3.13 update and it seems to work fine. However, it seems to reset itself after not using it for an hour or so. And, the settings reset. Not sure what's going on.
During the install did you keep your calculator connected to the computer USB port to avoid drain on the battery ? The flash process drains the battery quite a bit, and your battery may be low.
I did keep the calculator connected. It's at 2.78v according to the status bar.