DM42 Firmware V3.4 available

This is where announcements of firmware updates for the DM42 calculator will be made
toml_12953
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 5:46 pm
Location: Malone, NY USA

Re: DM42 Firmware V3.4 available

Post by toml_12953 » Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:28 pm

grsbanks wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:26 pm
toml_12953 wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:23 pm
I can't set Beep Mute. When I select 4 from the menu, nothing happens.
Damn.

Confirmed.
On to 3.5! :lol: Hey if that's the only bug left, I can live with it!
Tom L

Ducator meus nihil agit sine lagunculae leynidae accedunt

DM42 SN: 00025 (Beta)
SN: 00221 (Shipping)

Boub65
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 2:34 pm
Location: Rabat, Morocco

Re: DM42 Firmware V3.4 available

Post by Boub65 » Tue Mar 06, 2018 5:21 pm

Hi all,
first time I am flashing my DM42 (I am on Windows).
Went 100% smoothly from V3.3 to 3.4

Only improvement would be to add in the "DM42 User Manual" a link to where we find dm-tool.exe (under chapter "Firmware Update Using dm_tool")

Sincerely,
Boubker.
2xDM15L, DM41L
DM42 SN#00855

toml_12953
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 5:46 pm
Location: Malone, NY USA

Re: DM42 Firmware V3.4 available

Post by toml_12953 » Tue Mar 06, 2018 6:00 pm

grsbanks wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:26 pm
toml_12953 wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 4:23 pm
I can't set Beep Mute. When I select 4 from the menu, nothing happens.
Damn.

Confirmed.

In the meantime you can do "SF 26" to enable beeps and "CF 26" to mute the buzzer.
Hey, are you anywhere near York House, Green Lane West? When I buy from someone who doesn't ship to the USA, I use a remailing service, forward2me, in Preston, Lancashire. That would be a funny coincidence.
Tom L

Ducator meus nihil agit sine lagunculae leynidae accedunt

DM42 SN: 00025 (Beta)
SN: 00221 (Shipping)

Geoff Quickfall
Posts: 198
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 8:44 pm
Location: Vancouver Canada
Contact:

Re: DM42 Firmware V3.4 available

Post by Geoff Quickfall » Tue Mar 06, 2018 7:28 pm

Banksie, :D

My windows 10 latest revision will not run dmtool without selecting run as admin.

If you know of a control panel setup flag in windows which will allow me to blanket the computer that I am admin, let me know ;)

Cheers, Geoff

User avatar
Walter
Posts: 814
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 9:13 am
Location: Close to FRA, Germany

Re: DM42 Firmware V3.4 available

Post by Walter » Tue Mar 06, 2018 10:29 pm

Smooth update as usual. Thanks to D, M, T, and G. :)
DM42 SN: 00041 --- Follower of Platon.

HP-35, HP-45, ..., HP-50, WP 34S, WP 31S, DM16L

toml_12953
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 5:46 pm
Location: Malone, NY USA

Re: DM42 Firmware V3.4 available

Post by toml_12953 » Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:41 pm

Geoff Quickfall wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 7:28 pm
Banksie, :D

My windows 10 latest revision will not run dmtool without selecting run as admin.

If you know of a control panel setup flag in windows which will allow me to blanket the computer that I am admin, let me know ;)

Cheers, Geoff
You already know about right-clicking the program icon, choosing the Compatibility tab then checking "Run this program as Administrator" box, right? You only have to do that once. Then, whenever you run that program it will be run as Administrator without having to right-click it.
Tom L

Ducator meus nihil agit sine lagunculae leynidae accedunt

DM42 SN: 00025 (Beta)
SN: 00221 (Shipping)

rprosperi
Posts: 379
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 5:48 pm
Location: New York

Re: DM42 Firmware V3.4 available

Post by rprosperi » Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:58 pm

Geoff Quickfall wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 3:26 pm
Done and easy, Windows people, remember to run dmtool as administrator!
No need to do so for me either.

Perhaps it's a limitation for users with long overdue books, sorta like a fine at the Library...
--bob p

DM42: β00071 & 00282

toml_12953
Posts: 447
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 5:46 pm
Location: Malone, NY USA

Re: DM42 Firmware V3.4 available

Post by toml_12953 » Wed Mar 07, 2018 8:57 pm

I have both a beta and a shipping unit. The DeviceGUID = "{12CAE235-5639-4AD0-9BCC-6FDFBB2CF570}" for one and DeviceGUID = "{5757F320-8CC7-48B9-B31F-030026DEE239}" for the other one. This explains why I have to rerun inf-wizard when updating both calcs but doesn't explain why no one else has this problem.
Tom L

Ducator meus nihil agit sine lagunculae leynidae accedunt

DM42 SN: 00025 (Beta)
SN: 00221 (Shipping)

User avatar
Walter
Posts: 814
Joined: Tue May 02, 2017 9:13 am
Location: Close to FRA, Germany

Re: DM42 Firmware V3.4 available

Post by Walter » Wed Mar 07, 2018 9:10 pm

rprosperi wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:58 pm
Geoff Quickfall wrote:
Tue Mar 06, 2018 3:26 pm
Done and easy, Windows people, remember to run dmtool as administrator!
No need to do so for me either.

Perhaps it's a limitation for users with long overdue books, sorta like a fine at the Library...
:lol: After such a long while, some guys may come and execute a distraint ... :o
DM42 SN: 00041 --- Follower of Platon.

HP-35, HP-45, ..., HP-50, WP 34S, WP 31S, DM16L

mcc
Posts: 182
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 3:10 am

Re: DM42 Firmware V3.4 available

Post by mcc » Sat Mar 10, 2018 4:35 am

Hi,

Many thanks to David, Michael, Thomas and grsbanks who made all this magic happen!
I am on crystal math now...:)

Updated to v3.4a without problems under Linux with dfu-util.
Had to press <reset> twice, though.

Cheers
Meino
DM 42 - SN: 00373, Firmware v.:3.11. / 3.11. as compiled by SwissMicros

Post Reply