[DM15] first time serial connection Win7

This is the place to discuss the usage of DM1x/DM41 machines and to share any tips & tricks you may have stumbled across.

If discussing a specific model, please ensure that you prefix topic subjects with the model number this way:

[DM41] How to change the number of program steps available
Post Reply
Vartio L.
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 5:30 pm

[DM15] first time serial connection Win7

Post by Vartio L. » Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:39 pm

Soo need to fill this new place...

Trying to create a serial connection to DM15 under windows 7 with Putty.. So far no luck.

Windows device manager do see it as COM3. "Silicon Labs CP210x USB to UART Bridge" The default speed is 9600,8,1 ...(I wonder if I can connect with 50g .. that is another adventure). Putty will refuge to open the connection.. I'll need to try harder..
Last edited by Vartio L. on Fri Jun 02, 2017 3:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

grsbanks
Posts: 680
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:23 am
Location: Preston, Lancs, UK

Re: DM1x, first time serial connection Win7

Post by grsbanks » Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:53 pm

Try 38400 as the connection speed rather than 9600. That should work.
Not SwissMicros staff, just an enthusiast.

Vartio L.
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: DM1x, first time serial connection Win7

Post by Vartio L. » Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:10 pm

It seems it is on the Putty that is causing some trouble or the DM15 somehow doesn't talk to it...

I can not remember how long it have been since I have made anything on Windows CMD and never before on powershell. :twisted:

Here is the help how to connect to serial port with CMD/powershell if someone else is struggling with the connection.
https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/te ... -mac-linux
Attachments
portsCMD.gif
portsCMD.gif (20.27 KiB) Viewed 1454 times
Last edited by Vartio L. on Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.

grsbanks
Posts: 680
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:23 am
Location: Preston, Lancs, UK

Re: DM1x, first time serial connection Win7

Post by grsbanks » Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:14 pm

These are my PuTTY settings:
Screenshot (26).png
Screenshot (26).png (31.5 KiB) Viewed 1454 times
Not SwissMicros staff, just an enthusiast.

Vartio L.
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: DM1x, first time serial connection Win7

Post by Vartio L. » Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:17 pm

grsbanks wrote:
Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:14 pm
These are my PuTTY settings:
Screenshot (26).png
No luck with those. :( I need to download it again, I can not remember which version is sitting on my desktop etc.

Oh... Eh.. Uh... There were the "Session" tab and serial radio button on Putty.. :( :lol: Should have not read the help. :roll:

Soo I got a memdump out of the unit, but now I don't get the converter to work. It works with the sample dumps in it, but not with my copypaste. :?

Code: Select all

VOYAGER >> ?
Firmware DM15_M1B_V22

?          Help
p          Key press
s          Dump memory
l          Load memory
ct         Console timeout
t          Get time
ts         Set time
td         Update time
d          Toggle display output to console
b          Read battery voltage

Type '<command> ?' for params
Uptime 256s
VOYAGER >> b
BAT: 2752mV
VOYAGER >> s
DM15_M1B
04  000000fffff000  00000000000008  0000000000000c  00000000000eae
08  00000000000000  2faf8befbe2280  00000000000000  00000000000000
14  00000000000000  1b2d2d2d2d2d2d  00000000000000  00000000000000
18  00000000000000  0000000000007f  00000000a00000  00000000000000
A: 000000fffff000  B: 000000fffffeae  C: 00000000000eae
M: 00000000000000  N: 00000000000000  G: 04
VOYAGER >>
Bye...


toml_12953
Posts: 437
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 5:46 pm
Location: Malone, NY USA

Re: [DM15] first time serial connection Win7

Post by toml_12953 » Mon Jun 12, 2017 12:54 pm

Vartio L. wrote:
Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:39 pm
Soo need to fill this new place...

Trying to create a serial connection to DM15 under windows 7 with Putty.. So far no luck.

Windows device manager do see it as COM3. "Silicon Labs CP210x USB to UART Bridge" The default speed is 9600,8,1 ...(I wonder if I can connect with 50g .. that is another adventure). Putty will refuge to open the connection.. I'll need to try harder..
I use TeraTerm

https://ttssh2.osdn.jp/index.html.en

and it works great with the SwissMicros calculators.

Tom L
Tom L

Dyslexia and dieting don't mix. I went on a low-crab diet and didn't lose an ounce.
DM42 SN: 00025 (Beta)
SN: 00221 (Shipping)

grsbanks
Posts: 680
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:23 am
Location: Preston, Lancs, UK

Re: DM1x, first time serial connection Win7

Post by grsbanks » Mon Jun 12, 2017 1:22 pm

Vartio L. wrote:
Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:17 pm
Soo I got a memdump out of the unit, but now I don't get the converter to work. It works with the sample dumps in it, but not with my copypaste. :?

Code: Select all

VOYAGER >> s
DM15_M1B
04  000000fffff000  00000000000008  0000000000000c  00000000000eae
08  00000000000000  2faf8befbe2280  00000000000000  00000000000000
14  00000000000000  1b2d2d2d2d2d2d  00000000000000  00000000000000
18  00000000000000  0000000000007f  00000000a00000  00000000000000
A: 000000fffff000  B: 000000fffffeae  C: 00000000000eae
M: 00000000000000  N: 00000000000000  G: 04
VOYAGER >>
Bye...
Err.... There aren't any program instructions in that dump so the Nut decoder won't show you anything :)
Not SwissMicros staff, just an enthusiast.

Vartio L.
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: [DM15] first time serial connection Win7

Post by Vartio L. » Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:43 pm

Yep. There is somekind of misbehaviour in my unit while hitting the [ON][C] keys randomly (to start the serial console) resulting a memory reset. I had the communication working in the end, it were users foult in my end with Putty as I though (wrongly as I didn't notice the "serial" mark in the session tab) the serial tab is the thing where the connection is formed for serial communications. :)

This project is on hold sorry, I'm a pathological project hoarder. :lol:
Last edited by Vartio L. on Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

grsbanks
Posts: 680
Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:23 am
Location: Preston, Lancs, UK

Re: [DM15] first time serial connection Win7

Post by grsbanks » Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:48 pm

Oh yes, I remember now.

I tried flashing one of my units with the DM15 firmware and messing with the keyboard like you did but was totally unable to reproduce the problem.
Not SwissMicros staff, just an enthusiast.

Vartio L.
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 5:30 pm

Re: [DM15] first time serial connection Win7

Post by Vartio L. » Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:54 pm

I'l need to make a short video clip that shows the speed and what I do. I don't say a couple a days as it seems I'm totally derailed from calculators atm.

Post Reply